Section Map

ATD Excellence in Practice Awards

The Excellence in Practice Awards recognize individual practices across the full scope of talent development. Congratulations to our 2018 winners! The 2019 window will open June 1, 2019.
Congratulations to our 2018 Excellence in Practice Award Winners!


Awards are presented to practices that have demonstrated clear and measurable results of achieving organizational goals, meet a demonstrated need, have appropriate design values, and are clearly aligned with other performance improvement initiatives. These practices have long-term, sustained results.

The 2018 application is now closed. The 2019 application window will open June 1.

  • Honorable mention citations are no longer given.
  • Practices may only be entered in one category.
  • There is one (1) new category (see below for descriptions of all 16 categories).


  • Earn recognition from your peers.
  • Have your work benchmarked by your peers when you share your award-winning best practices.
  • Be honored at the awards ceremony during the ATD International Conference & Exposition.
  • Be featured in ATD publications.
Excellence in Practice Award Categories
Choose the category that best fits your practice. Each practice may only be entered in one category.
Applying for Excellence in Practice Awards
Familiarize yourself with this important information before applying for ATD's Excellence in Practice Awards
Practices must be fully implemented

To be considered, a practice must be in place for at least two years (including time in pilot phase). Practices that have previously received an Excellence in Practice Award may apply again five years after their award was bestowed.

Organizations may submit multiple entries

While each practice may only be submitted in one category, there is no limit to the number of practices that can be entered.

Entries must be blind

All applications should be anonymous (no mention of company name). Only indicate the company name where asked when you set up your profile. More information about this rule is found on the awards portal.


This awards program is for internal talent development practices and initiatives that organizations use to enhance and develop the knowledge, skills, and capabilities of their employees. Therefore, customer-focused practices or other training efforts that are for those outside the organization are not eligible. Training suppliers should partner with their clients if they are interested in applying.

Applicants do not need to be ATD members to apply.

Entry Fee Must Be Paid by Credit Card

A $100 entry fee is charged as the last step in submitting your application via the online portal. Only credit card payments will be accepted.

Use the online portal to submit your entry

All entries will be submitted via our online awards portal.

More questions?

If you have additional questions, please email Kristen Fyfe-Mills at

The 2019 application window will open on June 1.

What do award winning practices look like? Read about them!

Interested in learning about winners previous to 2015? Email to obtain a PDF of previous awards booklets. For an archive of ATD BEST Award winners, visit the TD magazine archive.